Getting to know your Profile Assistant
Purpose
This article describes the purpose of the Profile Assistant feature, the data it syncs with, and its role in the Career Hub experience. It also lists the feature’s main UI components.
Audience
This article is directed toward new users of the Career Hub product, specifically employees as they manage their Career Hub profile.
Background
Profile Assistant is a tool that helps you enrich your Career Hub profile by providing update recommendations for all areas of your profile. These update recommendations come from data syncs from Eightfold intelligence and remote systems.
You can choose which recommendations you’re interested in and add them to your profile in the Profile Assistant window.
The update review and approval process supports a tailored approach to profile building and weeds out unwanted syncs or updates to your profile. By default, six profile sections are covered in Profile Assistant: Work Experience, Education, Skills, Projects, Languages, Certifications, and Courses (if a learning management system is integrated with your Eightfold environment).
Accessing Profile Assistant
Career Hub users with Profile Assistant enabled can access the feature on their Career Hub profile page. To learn more about your profile, explore our Career Hub Profile documentation. The Profile Assistant interface differs for first-time users and return users.
If you’re a first-time user you’ll be prompted to set up Profile Assistant during your Career Hub profile activation. If you’re a return user you’ll see the Profile Assistant window open on your profile page whenever you have recommendations to review. To open the Profile Assistant window at any time, select the wand icon at the lower right of your My Profile page.
Data syncs
Data syncs from Eightfold Intelligence and remote systems power the Profile Assistant recommendations you receive in your profile. “Eightfold Intelligence” refers to resume parsing and skill inference functions. Both are used to help build your profile and provide ongoing recommendations for improvement.
Remote systems also supply data for your profile. The following table shows high-priority sources used in Profile Assistant:
| Data source | Identifying information |
| ATS-HRIS Integration | Employee email address
Note: ATS-HRIS integration is managed from the backend by Eightfold and your company or organization. |
| Resume | Resume content uploaded by you |
Data syncing preferences
During profile activation, you'll be asked to provide your data syncing preferences.
If you turn on the Sync with HRIS Integration toggle, the HRIS information provided by your employer is synced with Profile Assistant.
Managing your data syncs
Data syncs are managed in your Profile Assistant settings. You can update your settings in the Profile Assistant widget by selecting the gear icon in the top menu bar.
For step-by-step instructions on managing your Profile Assistant settings read our Managing your Profile Assistant settings documentation.
HRIS integration
An employee's HRIS information is regularly pulled or synced with Profile Assistant.
The following conditions apply to HRIS integration:
- HRIS information, such as title, level, and manager is updated to an employee's profile in real time without the accept or reject function. No further action is required by an employee for these types updates.
- HRIS information, such as education and experience is displayed in the Profile Assistant as a recommendation for the employee to accept or reject. This type of HRIS information is also updated in real time but is not added to the employee's profile unless the employee accepts the recommendation(s).
Syncing with resume upload
When uploading your resume as a return Career Hub user, you’ll have the option to push your resume data to Profile Assistant or simply attach your resume to your profile.

Figure 2: Push To Assistant and Attach buttons for resume data
In the contact section of your profile, select the Resume button, upload your resume, and select either Push To Assistant or Attach in the pop-up window. The Push To Assistant option pushes the resume data into your profile, and the Attach resume option attaches your resume to your profile. When your resume is attached, the information it contains is not incorporated into your profile.
Your resume upload options may differ depending on the features you have enabled in your Eightfold environment.
For step-by-step instructions on uploading your resume read our Syncing your data by uploading your resume documentation.
New users
A new user is someone completing the initial setup of their Career Hub profile either by following the profile activation steps (when you log in to Career Hub for the first time) or by utilizing the Profile Completeness Widget.The Profile Completeness Widget is used to build your profile but is separate from the Profile Assistant feature.
The Profile Assistant feature offers updates and recommendations after your profile has gone through all of the steps provided in the Profile Completeness Widget.
In the Profile Completeness Widget, you’ll be asked to set your preferences and connect with data sources to help power Profile Assistant. This new user experience is considered the first stage of Profile Assistant.
Return users
The secondary stage of Profile Assistant is for return users. A return user is someone who has already completed the initial setup stages and is ready to use Profile Assistant.
As a return user you can access Profile Assistant by selecting the wand icon on your profile page. If you have recommendations to review, the wand icon will also highlight the number of recommendations available to you.
Navigating Profile Assistant
With Profile Assistant, you can update your profile using suggestions or recommendations supplied by internal and remote data sources. All eligible sections are listed in the top menu bar of the window:
- Experiences
- Education
- Skills
- Languages
- Projects
- Certifications
- Courses*
*Course suggestions only appear if your company chooses to provide your course attendance data.
Two function icons are provided directly above the menu bar. The gear icon allows you to access your Profile Assistant settings and the X icon closes the window.


Figure 3: Example Profile Assistant recommended updates
The number of recommendations for each section is highlighted in blue to the right of the section name. Within each section, you can choose which recommendations, if any, to add to your profile by selecting the plus icon to the right of the recommendation. After selecting the plus icon a check mark confirms that the recommendation was added to your profile, and the recommendation is highlighted blue on your profile page. The blue highlight goes away when you move to a different section of your profile.

Figure 4: Highlighted blue section for Profile Assistant recommendation
To delete a recommendation, select the trash can icon in the Profile Assistant widget. After selecting the trash can icon a confirmation message appears confirming your deletion of the recommendation. Select Delete in the pop-up box to delete the recommendation.
For step-by-step instructions on how to use Profile Assistant, read our how-to guide Getting started with your Profile Assistant
Skills assistant
With Skills assistant, inferred skills are displayed for recommendations provided in the Profile Assistant widget. For example, if you choose to update your profile with a previous job role, the inferred skills for that job title automatically populate as new suggestions on your profile page. The following profile sections are covered by Skills assistant: Experiences, Education, and Projects.

Figure 5: Updated Work Experience section with inferred skills
You can accept a suggested skill by selecting the plus icon next to the skill name. The skill then appears as a white button beneath the job role. If no selection is made, the list of suggested skills remains on the page until you leave.
For step-by-step instructions on how to add inferred skills to your profile with Profile Assistant read our Adding inferred skills to your profile documentation.
Email notifications
Whenever your profile receives a profile update from a remote system, you are notified by email. Profile Assistant may also send you follow-up nudges periodically until your recommendation is addressed. After you address the recommendation in Profile Assistant, by either accepting it or dismissing it, your profile will be updated. All notifications are configurable and can be turned on/off by your company’s Eightfold administrator.